You’ve Received A Commercial Driver’s License Suspension: Now What?

Driver with CDL suspension on a highway..
  • Sep 12 2019

California State requires anyone driving a vehicle weighing over 26,001 pounds, excluding trailers, hauling trailers that weigh more than 10,000 pounds, vehicles accommodating 16 or more passengers, including buses, and any vehicle used to transport materials that are hazardous to first obtain a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) if they are being used for commercial or business purposes. For truck and other professional drivers, a commercial driver’s license is a necessity; it allows them to make a living. Because of this, a professional driver must act quickly if their commercial driver’s license is at risk for a suspension. If you have a CDL suspension, you will be unable to perform the main duties of your job, which can therefore also be at risk. 

Why Might I Get a CDL Suspension?

There are various reasons as to why a professional driver may face fines, traffic charges, or even license suspension. These factors include:

  • Alcohol or drug-related offenses
  • Carrying cargo weighing more than the limit
  • Driving without insurance
  • Failure to stop at weigh stations
  • Habitual traffic violations
  • Logbook violations
  • Safety regulation violations
  • Speeding
  • Traffic violations while driving a personal vehicle

“Serious Traffic Violations”

If a commercial driver has been convicted of two “serious traffic violations” on separate occasions, within a period of three years, while operating a commercial vehicle, he or she may lose their license for up to 60 days. Furthermore, if a commercial driver has been convicted of three serious traffic violations within a period of three years, that suspension will be increased to 120 days.

It is important to note that these license suspensions are applicable regardless of where the violations take place – inside or outside of California. “Serious traffic violations” for commercial drivers include:

  • Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL
  • Speeding by a minimum of 15 miles over the limit
  • Tailgating
  • Traffic violations involving fatalities
  • Unsafe lane changes

Aggravated Offenses

A commercial driver can lose his or her license for a period of one year (or three years if transporting hazardous materials at the time) if they commit one of the following offenses:

  • Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of .04% or higher
  • Using the vehicle to commit a felony
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Refusing to blood alcohol testing
  • Operating a commercial vehicle with a CDL that is either suspended or revoked

The Cheap Traffic Attorneys Help Those in California Who Are Facing a CDL Suspension

Since the suspension or revocation of a CDL can have a major effect on your financial health due to inability to make a living, it is quite imperative that you speak with an experienced and knowledgeable California Commercial Ticket Attorney who will represent you aggressively in order to protect your license and therefore your livelihood. 

The Cheap Traffic Attorneys’ skilled Traffic Ticket Attorneys have the experience with assisting commercial drivers dealing with potential points on their licenses, fines, and penalties. If you are looking at a potential suspension or revocation of your CDL, Cheap Traffic Attorneys can help. To learn more or to schedule a consultation, contact us today!

Comments are closed.